Thursday, July 24, 2014

Hyrule Warriors - The Five Elements

It seems there are two more rules to consider, when you're thinking about potential characters for Hyrule Warriors.

a) if a character is from a different era, he or she will come from a stage from that era, e.g. Darunia from Death Mountain

b) all the weapons can cause some sort of elemental damage

We already talked about the first rule, so let's focus on the second one. There are five elements in the game: fire, water, thunder, light and shadow. Each weapon will at least support one of these, they might also support multiple elements (like Sheik's harp). Let's take a look at what elements we got covered so far (from the character menu):

  • Link's Sword - Light
  • Link's Rod - Fire
  • Link's Power Gloves - Thunder
  • Impa's Giant Blade - Water
  • Impa's Helbard - Fire
  • Zelda's Rapier - Light
  • Zelda's Wind Waker - Thunder
  • Shiek's Harp - Thunder
  • Lana's Book - Thunder
  • Lana's Deku Stick - Water
  • Agitha's Parasol - Light
  • Midna's Shackle - Shadow
  • Fi's Goddess Sword - Light
  • Darunia's Hammer - Fire
  • Ruto's Talisman - Water

So, let's count these:

  • Light: 4
  • Fire: 3
  • Thunder: 4
  • Water: 3
  • Shadow: 1

Oh, only one character fighting with shadow? If that's not a good reason for playable villains, I don't know what it is.

Scrapper's fighting styles would fit into the elements very nicely. His hands would support Thunder and the Gust Bellow would be wind. One character that doesn't look so good now, is Nabooru. In her case you would have to add random elements to her weapons, like they did with Impa. But maybe she could add to the shadow element...

I updated my latest wish list with the elements by the way!

No comments: